Married At First Sight….The Reality TV Experiment


So i spent the entire duration of this show watching every episode mainly because there was nothing else to watch. As usual these shows drag you in with the “what if” “what will happen” factor. I watched these three couples get married and spend their honeymoons in different places. After watching two episodes I figured this:

Davina and Sean would stay married

Jaclyn and Ryan would get divorced

Jessica and Ryan would get divorced

First impressions are always golden. We do our best to make our first impression positive. Selling ourselves to others. My first impressions of them were not really solid. Just as these couples barely met and got to know each other I just barely watched two episodes and tried to come to a conclusion.

For Jessica and Ryan I felt that he has an attitude problem. Short tempered and not really ready for the experiment. More like his male ego got the best of him every time. Jessica wanted the fairytale wedding and experience. Sadly, she really couldn’t expect that from this show. He treated her with disrespect basically on every show aired. He just didn’t seem sincere in his responses and his actions. She deserves better and he deserves someone who can deal with his temper. Maybe he would have been better off with Snooki! lol

For Jaclyn and Ryan I figured there was something possibly there. The first few episodes though you could tell by the look on her face that she was NOT happy with Ryan. She mentioned quite often over and over and…that she wasn’t attracted to him. Over time though as she got to know him she began to notice a different man. Personality can make someone more attractive! Ryan seemed to be very sincere but he was reluctant. He didn’t know where things would go. As time went on though he also noticed a change in her. I figured there was definitely a possibility for them considering how rocky their start was.

For Davina and Sean I felt there was nothing there after the first few episodes. When he mentioned that he was going back home to work that was pretty much the end. It was mentioned in the “6 Months Later” episodes that they failed the experiment. Yes they did. I kind of see myself as Sean. Hopeless romantic looking for someone but can’t leave the comfort of home and work. Thats how its always been for me. Sean wasn’t really in it to begin with. He only cheated himself the opportunity. Davina seemed to expect too much from someone she just met but in her defense Sean wasn’t around enough for them to really learn anything about each other.

So as I am typing this Part 2 of the “6 Months Later” is airing and I am going to watch it. If you want my honest opinion on this experiment here it is……

I personally don’t care for marriage and no I am not married so my commentary here is just my opinion. You can take 6 people and put them in an experiment by marrying them but 6 weeks isnt enough time to get to know someone. Basically the meeting they had at the altar was more lust then love. You can be insanely attracted to someone but thats lust not love. Making these people live on an itinerary is also not the way to make them fall in love. People who are attracted to one another have a weakness to let their guard down and will give in to sex. Some of these couples did this fairly quick. As do many people who go out on dates. Many women will say they don’t fuck on the first date and 7 hours later their panties are on the floor and their taking a cock between their legs. Harsh? Not really. Its for the most part truth for many. Couples fight. Its normal. Hell I’ve had my share of fighting with ex-gfs. There’s just no time limit on getting to know someone. To this day many females I know I learn new things about them all the time. Even after 10 years. We truly never stop learning about the people in our lives be it romantic or platonic. In this experiment they had a group of “experts” 4 to be exact. Experts or not the idea of calling yourself an expert of love is fucking stupid. No level of expertness if thats even a word lol can prepare two people for marriage and love.

Honestly to me the only thing this experiment has proven is that 4 people who are considered experts just made decent choices but no matter what they think every person has another side to them and even through interviews and what not you simply won’t get that until you actually spend time with someone. When I met one of my girlfriends I thought she was absolutely the best thing for me ever. As we dated I realized we didn’t have much in common and we just didn’t click. I felt that way for most of our relationship yet I tried to make it work. I failed miserably. I don’t call it all my fault because I believe we were two people looking for two different situations. Over 10 years later and many different scenarios I am still friends with this female because although we don’t have much in common we truly value the friendship that is there. I believe that has made a stronger bond that what we had when we actually dated.

So I don’t blame the experts. They only did their best to match these 6 people. It just proves that first impressions aren’t always going to make people fall in love. Can any of these 6 people stay friends 10 years later? See thats key. You don’t have to be lovers to be friends. based on everything involved here its not easy to marry someone you just met as done here. Lights, camera, action……itineraries, the unknown of your partner….Its a huge gamble for these 6 people and you can’t really call any of them losers or whatever. Theres someone out there for everyone. Maybe these matches weren’t it but somewhere they will find the right person. I guess…lol. In the end…..it serves its purpose…..it makes entertainment!

Leave a Reply

