Paul Gray Tribute Tattoo


So yesterday I finally decided to get the tattoo i had been wanting. I had made plans Monday to get it done and yesterday was the big day. As you may or may not know Paul died back in 2010. His own personal demons got the best of him. I’ve never been a person to do drugs. Hate them. Yet I never judged him or anyone else for it. In the end although he did contribute to his own death he still created music that made an impact on many lives. Having known him for so long I wanted to get a piece to remember him by. When i saw this mask design i had to have it. Full mask and eyes. Its perfect.

The tattoo took about 3 hours. A little over in fact. We took a few short breaks and let me tell you, I fucking needed them! I have 11 other tattoos that didnt hurt much. All on my arms and wrists. This one is on my right calf. It stung like a fucking bitch! I made it through fine though. I think emotionally was much worse. I didnt have anyone with me but I didnt feel the need to recreate Corey’s trip for his own tatt. lol. For the 3 hours I pretty much laid my head down and cringed here and there. Talked with the artist and jammed to some Pandora radio he had on. He took a smoke break about 1.5 hours in. Then some what seemed to be 14 year old girls came in looking to get piercings and he was like fuck NO! No ID no piercing lol. After our second break another customer came in and did get her nose pierced. Ouch! She was like FUCK FUCK FUCK THIS SHIT STINGS! lol. Yeah I feel ya chick! My leg was burning like a motha fucka!

Most of it felt numb. It was in the center where the nose is and on the outer edges where i felt the most pain. I can say I did feel like Corey a bit though. Listening to Pandora radio the song Change from Deftones came on…thats one of my fav jams. For some reason that song makes me tear up. Then Snuff came on. That did it man. I hid my tears by keeping my head down and all the while it was stinging like a motha man. No lie! If you never have gotten a single tattoo or one that takes 3 hours to complete then you dont even know the slightest bit about the pain. I mean im sure nothing compared to those who have had multiple sessions but hey I had my longest session and made it out ok! =) Snuff though reminds me alot of Paul. Maybe because the day i got the call he died I went for a drive and it was the next song on the CD to play. Not to mention I love playing songs like that. Acoustic work is my favorite to play. Lately i have had my acoustics tuned to various lower tuning. C# currently and some D#. Im usually always in E.

Anyways, after the 3 hours I was relieved to be done with it. The pain that last hour was overwhelming for sure. Hence why I say I know how Corey felt. We try to be tough guys but our pain tolerance just runs out eventually. Mine surely did. In the end it was worth it. I know many will probably give me shit for it because its a mask. Many will say its satanic. Its not. Its a mask. It doesnt symbolize Satanism. It symbolizes an individuals stage persona. It symbolizes the idea that Paul could wear a mask and create music and gain fans no matter how he looked. In the music industry today we see so many artists who you know become famous simply for their sex appeal. Not the case here. Well, maybe for those ladies that would enjoy being fucked by a guy wearing a mask like Paul’s! lol. So yes the pain was worth it all. I can’t say any demons were gone afterwards. I came to terms with his death and accepted it because in the end we all will die. Some choose to take their own lives and others lives long lives. Some don’t get to see their own children. For me though getting this tattoo is like a new beginning. A blessing if I should say. Like I said, others will criticize me for the tattoo and what the immediately see while others who know that mask will know what it stands for and will celebrate his life and enjoy it. After getting the tattoo I had gone to run some errands. He put some saran wrap and A&D on it for me until I got home to let it air out and apply more ointment. Actually about to go shower now and clean it up and get ready for bed. I went to Ralph’s Grocery store and Subway earlier and already a few teenagers noticed it. One guy literally was totally amazed and kept staring at my leg lol. I guess if anything thats one statement I want to make with this tattoo. Paul won’t get the recognition he deserves in the music industry. I mean by the Grammys and other organizations. So for people to see it and say “nice tattoo man” that means something to me because they notice it. They dont have to like Paul or Slipknot to appreciate it. As long as they know that there is a reason I would put a portrait of someone on my skin as a tribute.

I had a friend ask me the other day about my parents. She asked me why I would put a friends pic on my skin and not my parents. Actually I have my name in Arabic on my arm. The design looks like the initials J.C. My mothers initials. One day when my parents have left this world I will commemmorate them with their own special tattoos. My father was a firemwan and I figure one day ill get a Red fire hydrant with his old number 82 on it and the initials R.F.D. for the station he worked at. For my mom i’d probably get a flower. One she really likes. its too soon for any of that to even think of or decide but when im ready I will get those. i’d rather think those out fully just as i did this Paul tribute before I jump the gun and get something. All my tattoos have meaning. From the Slipknot ones, to the grim reapers to the Katy Perry ones (yeah katy and i have matching tattoos lol)…etc.

I’ll end on this….A friend back in Texas a long time ago would always say he wanted a tattoo everytime I got one. He would then say, “yeah but when i get a tattoo im getting one with meaning not like yours.” WTF you trying to say fool?!?!? My ink all has meaning. Not my fault his ass doesn’t have one drop of ink on his skin. His wife doesnt like tattoos so he never got any but always kept saying he would be a rebel and get one LOL. All these years later and still no ink. It just amazes me that people with no ink tend to criticize others with ink as if they know whats its like to have it. Join the club then you have room to speak your mind. If not then dont bitch. Most people get tattoos for a meaning or something they like/enjoy. I got grim reapers in the beginning because I liked heavy metal and death metal. Although i dont listen much to that anymore I still dont regret them. They were just part of my life at that time and I still love them. It doesn’t make me a bad person. I’m still the same guy that would help you if you needed it. Im still the same guy that would do your fucking taxes or god forbid fix your computer!!!! LOL. Oh how I hate fixing computers now. Even my own.

Ok so enjoy the pics and ill try to post this short little video I made on my phone. Got the new LG G2. Im diggin it but I still say the iPod Touch 5th gen has a better camera lol

ok im out….thanx

Gill

Paul Gray tattoo

Paul Gray tattoo

before it was finished

before it was finished

Leave a Reply

