‘Tis The Season


Every year we work towards a new beginning with the new year. All the things we have gone through both good and bad. For some of us we experienced many good things. Marriages, relationships, children, promotions, etc….We look back on these things and praise that positivity. Many of us also faced unexpected events. Death, job loss, medical conditions…etc…Its difficult sometimes to think of these things. We try to reinforce those negative feelings with positive ones. Remember Jaime Escalante once said, “A negative times a negative equals a positive.” In that quote its just not really about a mathematical formula. Its also about life. We have to take the negative and replace it with positive.

No matter how much we try to avoid the inevitable, it still happens. Every year that passes brings on new challenges in life. We look back to the holidays we have shared as families. New Years, Easter, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Xmas just to name a few. Sadly with all the chaos in our busy lives we dont seem to find the time to interact with our families. We work, play, socialize with friends and yet we dont stop and think about those that are closest to us.

As a child I remember what it was like to get so many gifts. I could hardly keep up with everything I got. Of course as we get older we realize that Xmas is not so much about the gifts but for the things we appreciate. Life, love, family, friends and the pursuit of happiness. Sadly, there are people less fortunate than many of us that cant afford to cook meals or buy their loved ones gifts. We shouldn’t look down on those people. Sometimes we can get so caught up in our own world that we forget those that suffer. To me it doesn’t matter if some man on the street doesn’t have a job and asks me for a dollar. Thursday night a woman asked me for a dollar. I gave her 5. Its all i had in cash on me at the moment. She went inside and bought something to eat. Not everyone that asks for money wants booze. There are some poeple out there that honestly just might be a ittle short. Ive been there. Believe me, when someone can offer the slightest bit of assistance its appreciated. It may not be shown in a manner that you like but one way or another they do. Others do drugs or drink. It really is up to us to make that better judgement. Ive denied someones request for a handout before. Its nothing to be ashamed of but sometimes we just have to weigh the good with the bad.

Many of us spent countless hours and dollars this Christmas holiday buying gifts for our loved ones. Video games, TVs, cellphones, iphones/ipads (they are in a different class than the average cell phone you know lol), clothes, purses, jewelry, computers…etc…Some that are lucky enough might even get…….A NEW CAR (plays cheesy Price if Right Music here lol). Sometimes we take for granted our lives and our finances. Its nice to have money, nice homes, cars and all of that but thats materialistic stuff. Those are things we really want more than need. Excess money would be great for everyone but not everyone is in a situation to make a shitload of it. We take it as it comes and make the best of it. Sometimes we get a gift that may seem crappy but its not the gift but the thought that counts. The gift that keeps on giving is family and friends. You can get some cool retro piece of electronic gear but you never know when it will break. Family is always there.

For me 2010 has been full of life decisions. I have had many positive and negative things happen in my life this year. In May 2010 I lost a metal brother! Paul Dedrick Gray of Slipknot died. Was a painful loss for me. I drank alot during that period. I mean alot! Recently, I was brought back to the death of my friend Victor who passed away a few years ago. He is the one that left me a sweet drum kit. 2010 for me has been much better than previous years. Ive done my best to stay on track with my life but I have failed in many areas. Ive also found happiness in a great gal that makes me happy. There is not alot expected of me as I dont expect her to give me the world either. Its more of a growing relationship and she just plain kicks ass. Did I mention she is a geek, plays guitar, likes cats lol…..

In 2010 i tried a few things. Things I have done in the past. Ive also lost control of my life and my attitude. Ive allowed myself to get bitchy and annoy friends. I need to work on that. I need to keep working to keep my life on the right track. I think I have been doing pretty well but I could be doing even better. Thats the right attitude am I right? Everyday I wake up life for me continues. A new day with new challenges and goals. One day I wont be here. I might goto sleep and never wake up. I might hop on my motorcycle or in my car and get in a fatal accident. Or I might suddenly die from a heart attack or cancer. I dont know my fate in life and I dont want to know. I do know that I want to live as much as I can. Believe it or not its YOU people that keep me going. When I feel stressed or down about something that quirky little comment that someone leaves me makes me feel better. Its amazing how the power of a word can change someone’s outlook on life.

I think I have done pretty well with many aspects of my life. I keep an active interest in my family and friends. I interact with them all….you all! There are still areas I need to concentrate on. My attitude, my weight, my music both drums and guitar and with the thought of being a daddy/pops/baby daddy/ol’ man/ol’ fart/the guy with the money….lol Lots in store for me in 2011. Im looking to make this new year a craptastic one! Bring on 2011!

In closing I ask you all to spend time with your families and loved ones. Keep an active interest in your kids lives. Hang out with friends. Dont be afraid to try new things in life! You might surprise yourself with enjoying something new. One day we wont be here. Those we care about might not be there next year when I write another post like this in December 2011. Take the time to call or visit your friends and family. Take that time to visit your kids if your a divorced or joint custody parent. Sometimes its the little things we do for others that make such a huge difference in their lives. Make the effort to better yourself. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Its nice to get gifts for the holidays but for me having a birthday on Christmas Eve I sometimes feel cheated. In reality, having family and friends around me every year is a blessing from God, Allah or whomever. I give thanks everyday that my grandmother Cortez is still around. She is the only grandparent I have left. My fathers father died before I was born. All I have ever known of him is his face in a picture and the things he told me about him. My fathers mother died when I was about 5 years old. I knew of her but didnt have those fond memories. My grandfather Cortez died when I was in high school. it was a sudden shock. I didnt have many fond memories of him either. So to make up for all of the time lost with all of my grandparents I am making damn well sure I spend time with the only one I have left. In the end I will be full of pain and sorrow but will be filled with joy of those fond memories. I wish her so many more years to come. The most precious gift you can ever get doesn’t really come in a box. Its knowing that you have family and friends around you…..

Have a safe and happy Christmas and New Year and I wish you all the best to come in a new 2011. Set your goals, aim high and shoot for the stars. There is nothing like the feeling of succeeding in life or on a goal. If you fail at something, get right back at it and keep moving forward. As ive said before, life evolves as we evolve. Make the best of your life. Rather than being jealous of what someone else has, make your own dreams come true and strive to do the best and be the best and you my friends will be the richest person in the world!!

Thanks

Gill Grylls

Leave a Reply

