Jesus, Your Not Welcome Here….Why?


you know I don’t goto church. not because i dont believe in a god but I just dont get up and go. Call me lazy. This blog isnt about that though. While reading the news on KTLA FOX I saw and article about Neal Thompson. A man that dresses like Jesus and has for the last 22 years e every Sunday. In those 22 years he has only been kicked out of two churches. So i read that he was recently kicked out of a church in Des Peres MO.

So im watching the video and the guy seems sincere in his actions. He just wants to rejoice and spread the word of God. He wanted to goto church at this location that day and was greeted by people telling him that he needed to leave. Worshippers at this church told him to sit in the back in the hallway or something. WTF? They asked him if he was a Christian and what religion was he.

My thoughts on this:

OK, is it really relevant what religion he is? Maybe he is a particular religion but wants to convert. People do convert religions. He is asked to sit in the back and then asked to leave. Is this really the way Jesus would want people to be treated? Aren’t churches supposed to make you feel welcomed? What if I was a muslim and some guy was trying to kill me and I entered the church looking for help. Would they ask me what religion i am before they offer to help me? Sadly I think many would. I can understand the boundaries of churches and the rules or whatever they live by but to ask a man to leave simply because he is dressed like Jesus. I think that is wrong.

How can people feel welcome to a new neighborhood and church if the people are mean ass biggots like this? When I was a kid an old woman slapped the shit out of me while I was attending church with a friend and his family. After the services I asked the guitar player if I could play his guitar because I had been taking lessons. He said, “sure. Just put it back when your done” he said. So i played it. I played some classical pieces my teacher had taught me. Some flamenco style stuff and the old song Greensleeves. This old lady that forgot something in the church came in and heard me playing this classical piece and she came over to me and yelled at me and then slapped the living shit out of me. She said and I quote, “you damn devil how dare you play the devils music in the house of the Lord. You should be ashamed of yourself you punk.” Mind you I was 8. She called me a devil and a punk and on top of that literally slapped me so hard I had a red hand print on my face. Since then I have not cared to attend church. I mean is this how people are brainwashed? She could have nicely asked me what I was doing and if I would stop. She didnt have to slap me.

So you see, as much as many churches say they are so innocent and share in the love of life and worship God, I think some of these worshippers take it too far. If this man wasn’t harming anyone and simply wanted to attend the days sermon then why the hell couldn’t he? Churches are supposed to welcome people and make people fell welcome no matter what their religion. ive had people from many different denominational churches ask me to attend their services even if i didnt attend their church or worshipped in their manner. They did it out of the kindness of their hearts and because they truely value dealing with people.

Im not bad mouthing all religions and all people but just making note that there are some out there that really are not as sincere as they make themselves out to be. Just think of all the people that follow Benny Hinn……He has already been proven to be a fraud. I could have told you that. As much as I respect people for their own religious beliefs, please dont give others an entire spiel about why they should be like YOU and worship in the same manner as you. Simply because no two people on this earth are alike and no matter how much we may seem to be…..we are not!

On a side note…..I was raised Catholic. My mother is catholic and my father is baptist. I dont really know what it means to be a catholic but when people ask I tell them. I know how I was raised yet I choose to not attend services. Ive been in catholic, baptist, methodist churches and have also been in temples. When I feel the need to attend a church I do. Ive been invited to different places of worship by friends. I dont mind. I think its interesting to see how others worship and I have taken interest in that. At times ive mentioned Allah and people look at me like im a terrorist. No, im not but people are so damn judgemental. I know I can be. So just because I can read a book about how people came to worship Allah or Jesus Christ and even about Satan that makes me a bad person? i think not. I like to learn what I can. One reason why I bookmark Wikipedia and goto it daily. I chain read things. I read one article and pick different things within it and so on and on. Gives meaning to the phrase, “we learn something new everyday.” I’d like to think I do! As homo sapiens we never stop learning……

Carpe Diem, Sieze the Day!

added****

You know years and years ago when I was younger while working with a particular band I spent a few extra days in Europe at the end of a tour. I flew back to Rome where I stayed and waited in line as I had done other times. This time I actually got blessed by Pope John Paul. As a person that doesn’t goto church this was still a high point in my life because Pope John Paul was the Pope! Now that he is gone I still look back to that day. It was a good day. I grew up with him as Pope. Now there is someone new and im not quite used to that. I was so used to seeing John Paul on tv and at the Vatican when I would go. I went to a dollar store about 2 years ago and bought a book for 2 dollars about the Pope. It was a great read and I discovered more about how he became the Pope….Sorry was just thinking about that as i looked over at my bookshelf and saw the book since this post is about religous stuff…. ok peace out!

4 responses to “Jesus, Your Not Welcome Here….Why?

  1. Your not a catholic because you were raised a catholic LOL, its the ironic twist of being catholic.
    i believe in a God and Jesus. But i also believe no one has it right. We are all still searching for the answer. I have been to many places to worship, and i have only been disrespected at Christian religious centers. Some how i don’t think thats what jesus would have wanted…interesting side note…white women gossip more then any other race! its primarily because we are told if you don’t have something nice to say, then don’t say anything at all…just gossip behind their back. LOL

  2. i was baptized as a catholic. in the eyes of the church i am catholic whether i worship in a church or not. you are not considered catholic until you are baptized in a catholic church. ive also done that other crap communion and confirmation. so i think that qualifies me as a catholic even if i dont goto church. lol

  3. You made very logical steps to conclude your statement and opinion in this post, very smart and good read, if only the same people who make those mistakes could understand what you wanted to say, they would be better believer and act in the sense of their religions.

    I chain read things- I prefer that one too- very good way to expand your view, thats how surfing supposed to be.

  4. I have a problem with the overall premise of your article but I still think its really informative. I really like your other posts. Keep up the great work. If you can add more video and pictures can be much better. Because they help much clear understanding. 🙂 thanks Cernovice.

Leave a Reply

